Results of the 6th International Karol Lipiński Violin Competition | Toruńska Orkiestra Symfoniczna

Results of the 6th International Karol Lipiński Violin Competition

We are pleased to announce the participants in the 6th International Karol Lipiński Violin Competition.

The preliminary qualifications for this prestigious event were marked by over 80 applications from 23 countries, countless hours of recordings, and intense deliberations by the Committee. The selection process was highly competitive, with submissions from students of esteemed universities and accomplished artists from around the globe. Recordings and applications were rated by the Commission. The compostiion of committees is as follows:
Dainius Pavilionis - Chairman of the Jury,
Jan Romanowski,
Piotr Łużny.
Ultimately, 24 participants were selected in accordance with the competition's regulations, with five additional candidates designated as reserves. The violinists represent 14 different nations. 

The following is the list of participants who have qualified for the first stage, presented in alphabetical order:

Leon Blekh (1999) - The Netherlands
Iván Orlín Ariza Chacón (1996) - Colombia
Wonbeen Chung (1997) - South Korea
Leonard Fu (1997) - Germany
Alena Hove (1999) - USA
Sarah Jegou (1998) - France
Lorenz Karls (2001) - Sweden
Sojeong Kim (1991) - South Korea
Jelin Lee (1998) - South Korea
Maya Levy (1997) - Belgium
Simon Luethy (2000) - Germany
Sofia Manvati (2000) - Italy
Carla Marrero Martínez (1995) - Spain
Karolina Nowotczyńska (1992) - Poland
Sunjae Ok (1998) - South Korea
Audrey Park (2002) - USA
Hanna Pozorska (2004) - Poland
Yoanna Ruseva (1998) - Bulgaria
Aoi Saito (1997) - Japan
Kumi Shimizu (1991) - Japan
Jakub Staszel (2003) - Poland
Jaewon Wee (1999) - South Korea
Tianren Xie (1994) - China
Siqi Yu (1998) - China
List of reserve candidates starting from the highest average score obtained:
Reika Sakamoto (1997) - Japan
Felicitas Schiffner (1997) - Germany
Haoge Wang (2000) - China
Dongmin Lim (2001) - South Korea
Luka Ispir (1998) - France

Congratulations to all participants!
We would like to remind you that the Inaugural Concert of the 6th International Karol Lipiński Violin Competition will be held on 27 September at the Jordanki Cultural and Congress Centre. 

During the first stage, which will take place from 28 to 30 September, participants will perform works for solo violin. The second stage, featuring up to twelve participants selected by the jury, will consist of recitals accompanied by piano, with one of Lipiński's compositions being mandatory. 

The third stage, hosting six finalists, will spotlight a range of concertos by pivotal figures in violin literature: K. Lipiński, M. Karłowicz, H. Wieniawski, F. Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, J. Sibelius, J. Brahms and L. van Beethoven. The Winners’ Concert will be the crowning moment of the Competition. 

All stages of the competition will be open to the public.